Sunday, September 28, 2014

Some other things from this past week

Tuesday night, I had a very scarily realistic dream- my cousin's *douche* boyfriend was trying to hurt her over something quite trivial, and I can't even remember it.  She ran to me and I was trying to protect her from him.  I told him I wouldn't hesitate to break his balls.  I can't remember anything after that, because I think I woke up. But I know it was him, I could clearly see his douche face.

I worried most of the day on Wednesday about her.  I know's it's a dream, but still... why would I dream about something like that?

Tuesday was a random holiday (on a Tuesday of all days, I don't understand...) Japan is so interesting- we get the autumn and spring equinox as public holidays.  If it's a Tuesday, then so be it- no school.  In the US, I think that holiday would get moved to the nearest Monday and be deemed "the (second) Monday of the month" rather than the number day.

I also apparently made a mistake on the form for the Arashi lotto too. (I followed their damn directions, I don't really know what I messed up and they didn't tell me either!)  They sent me a (quite rude) postcard stating so, saying that I have to not only 1) not be entered in the lotto period but 2) I have to pay 840 yen to get my money back and 3) it will take up until November 20th to get the refund.  Well, eff you too JE.  I was on the fence about renewing my membership with them in the first place but now it's decided:  I won't be.  I probably won't be supporting them anymore either, in any way out of spite.  They (probably) won't get any of my money if I rent the CDs from Tsutaya instead of buying them.  And it'll save me money too, because the CDs are so damn expensive anyways.  The only reason to be the in the fan club (which is 4000 yen per year too, by the way) is to get tickets.

So sad.  I was so willing to give them my money too.  Oh well, I guess.

On Monday night, I finally heard from boyfriend again.  That boy... he's been sick again.  That's what happens when you're far from your girlfriend and she can't take care of you (hah- not really, he works way too much and that's probably much more the reason than anything.)  But, I'm happy because I got to talk to him and he said he's going to try and come home next month for a few days to meet with the person in charge of moving people.  He wants to come back (to me! Yay!) (Soon!)  I don't understand why (or how it's affordable for him) to come all the way to Japan to meet with someone for a day or so, but I asked him if it was better to meet in person and he answered "I think so" so I'm not going to question his choice, especially if it means I can see him.

Tuesday night, we made a chicken dish that Momsey recommended to me.  We made some substitutions, but it turned out REALLY good so I am going to file it away (in my brain?!) to use in the future.  We also had mashed potatoes with it , but I would love to figure some kind of vegetable dish to go with it instead, that way the starch can be rice or noodles.  It was a bit light for a normal dinner, too.

Recipe (taken from this site here.)

12 chicken drumsticks (sub: 10. Because things don't come in 12's here)

Sauce:
-2 tablespoons of

  • shoyu
  • BBQ sauce (sub we used tonkatsu sauce because BBQ sauce is hard to find. Recipe called for 1 tablespoon, oops)
  • Sweet and sour sauce (sub: we had to make this too, because we can't find that either.  We used this recipe here.)
-1 tablespoon of
  • honey
-1/2 teaspoon of
  • sesame oil
-2 tablespoons of sesame seeds*
-1 teaspoon of crushed garlic**
-1/4 cup of green onions**

*sesame seeds and green onions are garnish and go on last.
**one of my roommates is allergic to onions and garlic so we added this after her portion was made

The site says to  preheat the oven to 450 degrees F, then turn it down to 400 once you put the chicken in.  We kept the oven at 220 degrees C because once it's pre-heated and you open the door, my oven has this habit of turning off. (It's an asshole.)  And because under-cooked chicken is the worst, we left it at that 220 degrees for an hour.

While the chicken was baking we made the sauce.  Originally I wanted to eliminate the sweet and sour sauce altogether but after mixing the shoyu and the tonkatsu sauce, we realized that it was necessary because the shoyu was way too overpowering.

After the sauce was mixed, and the chicken was finished and cooled, put it all in a bowl and pour the sauce on, mix and then add the sesame seeds and the onions and then it's done!

It was very delicious!

Thursday, September 25, 2014

I got nanpa'd ...In my little ass country town

Yesterday, I was a bit of a dummy and forgot that it was Wednesday.  Usually, I am at West Elementary school on Wednesday, but due to the choir and band competitions, I was at East.  I tend to walk to East Elementary school because it's so close but also forgot about the meeting that we have on Wednesdays.  I explained my mistake to the vice-principal and everything was okay- she understood and let me leave a little early to go home and get my car.

I was thinking that I would run inside my apartment and use the toilet before leaving too, and was just spacing out while I walked up my street.  I saw a random salary man-esque guy coming from near one of my students houses, which I thought was weird (but it's not that weird... Lots of people walk around here because we are fairly close to the station.) He was only holding a cell phone, which WAS weird.  My first thought about him was "religious cult guy?" because when I lived in my other place some people from some cult always came to my door.  I avoided eye contact and kept making my way to my apartment.

Then, I heard a hello (in Japanese) from a soft spoken man's voice.  All I could think was "Damnit, he caught me. He IS a cult person..." but unluckily for me, I am not a rude person so I greeted him back.  Then he was suddenly walking next to me.

"Where are you going?" he asked me in casual Japanese.
"Huh? I'm going home..." I answered back in equally casual Japanese.  Looking back, I'm unsure if this encouraged him or not.
"Where do you live? Around here?" This may sound like a creep question.  It's usually not, because I live in a small town with a small amount of foreigners.
"In that area," I answered.  Don't worry- we were still a bit away from my home.  It was impossible to tell exactly where I live.  At this point in time, I thought that perhaps he was lost so I asked him "What's wrong? Is everything okay?"
"Ah, no.  I just thought you were cute so..." ...oh.
"Oh.  Thank you very much."
"Yeah, so next time let's go on a date..."
"Ah I have a boyfriend so, I'm sorry but..." but by the time I'd said I was sorry, I looked to see and he was gone! A mirage?! No- I looked behind me to see him jogging back the way we'd come.  I turned around and said "That was really goddamn weird."  I turned around again to make sure he wasn't following me and I hightailed it to my car, foregoing my bathroom pit-stop.  Luckily for me, my parking lot is situated between two buildings, so even if he did see which car I got into, it's not telling of my exact apartment.

When I got to the meeting, my roommate asked me why I was so early and when I told her this story she just laughed and said that it's because it's me.  I'm starting to think that she's right.  It IS me.

Boyfriend will say something similar when I tell him this story.  I keep telling him he's biased, because he loves me but he always tells me to be careful of getting hit on when I start a new business class or make plans to travel on a busy holiday.  I can't even count the times he has told me "You will probably get hit on."  Thankfully, it's no where near as often as he warns me.

Still.  So bloody weird.